October 2, 2012

Tina Veal-Gooch
Director of Public Relations
903.794.3651 ext. 1013

Strike Up The Band Four States Marching Contest Slated for October 6

Texarkana, TX – In the mood for some marching music, then Tiger Stadium at Grim Park is where you will want to be on Saturday, October 6 from 10:30 a.m. – 6:00 p.m. as it becomes the host facility for the Four States Marching Contest. An expected 2,000 students representing 23 schools from the four states area will be in attendance and will wow the crowd with their unique marching abilities. The event will be followed with an awards ceremony that begins at 5:30 p.m.

The Four States Marching Contest brings together the musical and marching talents of area bands as they prepare for regional contests. Admission is $2 per adult and $1 per student. The public is invited to attend.

Judges for this year’s contest are Band Directors: Kenneth Green, Northwestern State University in Natchitoches, LA; Richard Lovelace, New Boston High School in New Boston, TX; Mark Windham, University of Arkansas at Monticello, AR. Percussion judge will be Russell Roberts, Principle Percussionist with the Texarkana Symphony Orchestra. Drum Major judging will be by Kara Compton, Texas Middle School Assistant Band Director. And, Color Guards will be judged by Phyllis Deese, Director of Human Resources for Texarkana College.

Schedule of performance are as follows:

10:45 a.m. Texas High School (TX-AAAA)

11:00 a.m. BREAK

11:15 p.m. James Bowie High School (TX-A)
11:30 p.m. Maud High School (TX-A)
11:45 p.m. Waskom High School (TX-AA)
Noon Gurdon High School (AR-AA)
12:15 p.m. Daingerfield High School (TX-AA)
12:30 p.m. Mt. Vernon High School (TX-AA)
12:45 p.m. Hooks High School (TX-AA)
1:00 p.m. Prescott High School (AR-AA)

1:15 p.m. BREAK

1:30 p.m. Queen City High School (TX-AA)
1:45 p.m. Redwater High School (TX-AA)
2:00 p.m. Prairiland High School (TX-AA)
2:15 p.m. Hope High School (AR-AAA)
2:30 p.m. Liberty Eylau High School (TX-AAA)
2:45 p.m. Ashdown High School (AR-AAA)
3:00 p.m. Pleasant Grove High School (TX-AAA)

3:15 p.m. BREAK

3:30 p.m. Winona High School (TX-AA)
3:45 p.m. Arkansas High School (AR-AAAA)
4:00 p.m. Mt. Pleasant High School (TX-AAAA)
4:15 p.m. Byrd High School (LA-AAAA)
4:30 p.m. Vilonia High School (AR-AAAA)
4:45 p.m. Sulphur Springs High School (TX-AAAA)
5:00 p.m. Airline High School (LA-AAAA)

5:15 p.m. University of Arkansas at Monticello

5:30 p.m. Awards Ceremony

Download Article.