February 28, 2014

Todd Marshall
Director of Communications,
Marketing and Development
903.794.3651 ext. 1013

Texas HighSteppers Garner Thirty Awards for Team, Officer & Individual Performances during Texas Dance Classic

Texarkana, TX – The Texas High School HighSteppers received top honors during the American Dance/Drill Team Texas Dance Classic in Rowlett, TX, on February 22.

Team Awards received were the Sweepstakes Award for earning Division I ratings on all team routines, the coveted Gussie Nell Davis Award of Excellence for earning scores of 90 or above from all judges for all team routines, the Dr. Irving Dreibrodt Award and the American Academic Champions Award given to the team with the highest overall GPA in all Divisions.

Other Team Awards received were: Best Overall Presentation; Best Overall Precision; Best Overall Choreography; Judges’ Award for Kick Routine; Judges’ Award for Contemporary Routine; and First Runner-up for Best In Class.

The HighStepper Officers brought home the Sweepstakes Award, Gussie Nell Davis Award, Best In Class, Judges’ Award for Jazz Routine, Judges’ Award for Novelty Routine, Judges Award for Contemporary Routine, Best Overall Precision, Best Overall Choreography, Best Overall Technique and Best Overall Presentation.

Two Best in Class Awards were given to Texas HighStepper Ensembles and the following individual members received awards in solo and duet:

Riley Madlock – Solo Finalist – First Overall; Laura Rochelle – Solo Finalist – First Runner-Up; Natalie Robinson – JV Solo Finalist – Second Runner-Up; Kelsey Smith – Solo Finalist – Third Runner-Up; Carlie Clem – Solo Finalist – Fifth Runner-Up; Tristen Collins – Solo Finalist – Fifth Runner-Up; Riley Madlock and Natalie Robison – Best in Class Duet.

Texas HighSteppers members include:
Carlie Clem, Katherine Doan, Riley Madlock, Laura Rochelle and Kelsey Smith.

Kaitlyn Birmingham, Olivia Blann, Tristen Collins, Laura Davis, Chau Dong, Emily Evans, Takia Gowens, Sarah Hickerson, Cambresha Knight, Kaitlyn Krause, Katelyn Markham, Caroline May, Mackenzie Nixon, Libby Northam, Lauren Potter, Caroline Purtle, Rachel Qualls, Brooke Rayburn, Natalie Robinson, Jakhas Rodgers, Sidney Rogers, Sydnee Russ, Samantha Shoalmire, Mary-Stewart Shores, Kandice Smith, Cassidy Sorenson, Rachel Stuart, Caroline Thomas, Elizabeth Tullis, Merissa Valenzuela, Bailey Vaughan, Lydia Walker, Madilynn Walker, Valerie Ward, Leighton Weber, Hannah Williams.

Download Article.