February 18, 2015

Todd Marshall
Director of Communications,
Marketing and Development
903.794.3651 ext. 1013

Fifty-Four Texas High Band Students Earn 65 Gold First Division Rating Medals during UIL Solo & Ensemble Contest

Texarkana, TX – Fifty-four members of the Texas High School Band collected 65 Gold First Division rating medals during the Region IV UIL Solo & Ensemble Contest held on February 16 at Texas A&M University – Commerce. Thirty were for Solo performances and 35 were earned for ensemble performances.

Selected 1st Division Soloists were: Alto Sax – Jillian Chandler; Clarinet – Elizabeth Colvin, Shardee Henderson and Kaulyn Loe; Euphonium – Raven Morris; Flute – Vy Doan, Megan Haselow, Brionna Kegley, Kayleigh Moreland, Katherine Stoeckl and Alanna Tran; French Horn – Krysten Collins and Steven Geiger; Keyboard – Connor Howell, Emily Landers, Miles Powell and Augusta Welcher; Oboe – Selwin George; Piano – Morgan Williams; Piccolo – Brionna Kegley; Snare Drum – Alysha Green, Tobias Nixon and Davonte Witcher; Tenor Sax – Drake Hudspeth; Trombone – Austin Ryden; Trumpet – John Reddell, Colin Runnels, Landon Ryden and Madison Stewart; Tuba – Tamiah Epps.

Selected 1st Division Ensemble students were: Brass Ensemble – Krysten Collins, Tamiah Epps, Raven Morris, John Reddell, Madison Stewart and Kadie Vaughn; Clarinet Trio – Anna Cannon, Odin Contreras and Elijah Lovett; Flute Quartet – Cody Hambly, Kayleigh Moreland, Alex Smith and Katherine Stoeckl; Percussion Ensemble I – Kristian Edmonds, Miles Powell, Jake Weems, Augusta Welcher and Davonte Witcher; Percussion Ensemble II – Alysha Green, Matt Hall, Connor Howell, Emily Landers, Tobias Nixon and Hannah Terry; Saxophone Quartet – Matt Crawford, Drake Hudspeth, Keely Johnson and Michelle Moser; Woodwind Quartet – Cody Hambly, Rio Reyes, Alex Smith and Jasmine Walker; Woodwind Trio – Paige Copeland, Daphne Hammett and Megan Haselow.

Download Article.