April 24, 2015

Todd Marshall
Director of Communications,
Marketing and Development
903.794.3651 ext. 1013

Awards for Yearbook and Online Newspaper Presented during National Scholastic Press Association High School Journalism Convention

Texarkana, TX – The National Scholastic Press Association (NSPA) recognized Texas High School student publications with top awards during their National High School Journalism Convention on April 16-19 in Denver, CO.


The Tiger yearbook took First Place, out of a field of ten other high schools, for the Best in Show in the 233-288 book size. The yearbook was also named one of 66 Pacemaker Finalists from 289 entries.

Texas High School’s Tiger Times Online was one of 15 finalists, from a field of 172 entries, to earn Pacemaker status. A team of three judges worked over the course of several weeks to select Pacemaker recipients based on content and coverage, writing and editing, design, rich media and interactivity.

Student winners during the convention were:
Kelsi Brinkmeyer – Superior Award in Yearbook Sports Photography;
Kristin McCasland – Excellent Award in Feature Writing;
Caroline Purtle – Honorable Mention in News Writing;
Brianna O’Shaughnessy – Honorable Mention in Review Writing.

# # #

Picture Identification:
Brianna O’Shaughnessy, Caroline Purtle, Clint Smith (Advisor), Kelsi Brinkmeyer & Kristin McCasland

Download Article.