April 30, 2013

Tina Veal-Gooch
Director of Public Relations
903.794.3651 ext. 1013

Texas High School Publications & Student Staff Earn Top State Awards

Texarkana, TX – Following on the heels of earning the highest awards in the nation for their publications, Texas High School’s student-produced newspaper and yearbook were honored with top state awards during the Interscholastic League Press Conference (ILPC) Convention in Austin.

The Tiger Times newspaper, Tiger Times web-based newspaper and the 2012 Tiger yearbook each received a Gold Star, ranking the publications in the top ten percent statewide. Only eight schools in the state were awarded Gold Stars for newspaper and/or yearbook with only three achieving Gold Star status for web-based newspapers.

Additionally, student Brianna Sellers was selected for the highest individual state award - Tops in Texas - for Personal Opinion Column. The Tops in Texas Award is given to the outstanding student chosen from the pool of all First Place candidates in the various divisions. Sellers also received: First Place Newspaper Personal Opinion Column, Second Place Newspaper Computer Art and Third Place Newspaper Feature Writing.

During the Columbia Scholastic Press Association conference held in mid-March, the Texas High School Publications Department received the national Gold Crown Award for excellence in scholastic publications for the Tiger Times Digital and Print newspaper and the Silver Crown Award for the 2012 Tiger yearbook.

Finally, during the ILPC Convention, 40 students earned a total of 58 individual achievement awards. They are:

Carlie Clem – First Place Feature Photo
Ben Gladney – Third Place Sports Page Design and Honorable Mention Sports Feature
Amy McCoy – Second and Third Place Page One Design
Claire Norton – Second Place Sports Action Photo 
Taylor Potter – Second Place Sports Page Design, Honorable Mention News Writing
       and Honorable Mention Sports Action
Caroline Purtle & Brianna Sellers – First Place Feature/Entertainment Page Design
Preston Reed – First Place Student Art, Second and Third Place Cartoon
Riley Rogers – First Place Sports Column
Sydney Schoen – First Place Editorial Writing
Wynne Tidwell – First Place In-Depth News/Feature Story
Sydney Schoen & Wynne Tidwell – Third Place In-Depth News/Feature Package
Hailey Woods – Second Place Sports Feature Photo and Third Place Feature Photo
Staff – First Place Headlines

Katherine Doan – First Place Feature Writing
Ndidi Duru – Second Place Feature Photo
Robert Hoover – First Place Sports Feature
Sabrina Larson – Second Place News Photograph and Second Place Portrait
Taylor Potter – First Place Personal Opinion Column, First Place Sports Action,
       First Place Sports Column, Second Place Editorial Writing and
       Second Place News Writing
Haley Rushing – First Place Portrait and Second Place Sports Feature Photo
Autumn Sehy – Second Place News Writing
Brianna Sellers & Wynne Tidwell – Second Place News Feature
Wynne Tidwell – Honorable Mention Feature Writing

Carley Amox & Erin Woods – Third Place General Interest Spread
Rachel Burgess, Olivia Norton & Abbey Norwood – First Place Theme Selection
Kelly Burnett – First Place Student Life Feature Story
Carlie Clem – Honorable Mention Club/Organization Feature Story
Natalie Copeland, Chris Courson & Blake Purtle – Honorable Mention Sports Spread
Kara Crane & Joy Price – Second Place Student Life Spread
Allison Farhni – Honorable Mention Academic Photo
Ann Marie Hilborn – First Place Club/Organization Feature Story
Marissa Johnston & Katelyn Markham – Honorable Mention Student Life Spread
Madison Norton, Paige Oliver & Sarah Scales – First Place Sports Spread
Madison Norton & Karla Penate – Second Place Academic Spread
Abbey Norwood – Honorable Mention Club/Organization Spread
Paige Oliver – Honorable Mention Sports Feature Story
Taylor Potter – Second Place Academic Feature Story
Madeleine Russell – Second Place Class Spread, Second Place Student Life
       Feature Story, Honorable Mention Class Spread and
       Honorable Mention General Interest Spread
Sydney Schoen – Honorable Mention Personality Profile Story 
Staff – Second Place Headlines, Honorable Mention Academic Feature Story
       and Honorable Mention Captions
Stephan Vaughan, Kiari Walker & Erin Woods – First Place Club/Organization Spread

Madeleine Russell, Co-Editor in Chief of Tiger yearbook
Brianna Sellers, Co-Editor in Chief of Tiger Times newspaper
Wynne Tidwell, Co-Editor in Chief of Tiger Times newspaper
John David Goins, Co-Editor in Chief of Tiger Times online newspaper

Download Article.