December 10, 2015

Todd Marshall
Director of Communications,
Marketing and Development
903.794.3651 ext. 1013

Morriss Elementary School Robotics Teams enjoy Success at First Lego League Robotics Qualifying Tournament; Three Teams Move to Regional Competition

Texarkana, TX – Six student teams from the Martha and Josh Morriss Mathematics & Engineering Elementary School competed in the First Lego League Robotics Qualifying Tournament at Parish Episcopal School in Dallas, TX on December 5. Four teams received top awards with three of the teams moving on as Round Two Qualifiers in the Regional Competition slated for January 2016.

Award winners were:
Pollution Solutions – Project Winner – Advancing to Regional Competition. Members include: Lizzy Debenport, Braylen Garren, Christopher Gennings, Stephen Ogden, Ethan Ross, Lorelai Smith and Shelby Tubb.

Robot Rebels – Rising Star Winner – Advancing to Regional Competition. Members include: Christopher Ayers, Max Henry, Jenna Humphrey, Anne Lee, Julia Norton, Zain Suelzer and Lola Vanderburg.

Tiger Trashers – Advancing to Regional Competition. Members include: Darbi Davis, Cole Gideon, Sophie Keller, Eli Likins, Evan Sutton and Tyler Unger.

Metal Detectors – Core Values Winner. Members include: Addison Bloomfield, John Thomas Borowitz, Mason Franklin, Serenity Lovett, Melexxa Marshall, Katey Pappas, Spencer Potts and Jeb White.

This year’s First Lego League competition challenge, “Trash Trek,” focused on exploring the fascinating world of trash. From collection, to sorting, to smart production and reuse, students were asked to formulate robotics that would make less trash and improve the way people handle the trash we make. Each team competed in a Robot Table Game, Robot Design, Project and Core Values.

Pollution Solutions

Robot Rebels

Tiger Trashers

Metal Detectors

Pollution Solutions:
Front Row: Shelby Tubb, Lizzy Debenport
Middle Row: Braylen Garren, Lorelai Smith
Back Row: Stephen Ogden, Christopher Gennings, Ethan Ross

Robot Rebels:
Front Row: Jenna Humphrey
Middle Row: Anna Lee, Julia Norton, Lola Vanderburg
Back Row: Max Henry, Christopher Ayers, Zain Suelzer

Tiger Trashers:
Front Row: Darbi Davis, Sophie Keller, Cole Gideon
Middle Row: Tyler Unger, Eli Likins
Back Row: Evan Sutton

Metal Detectors:
Front Row: Jeb White, Mason Franklin
Middle Row: Serenity Lovett, Melexxa Marshall, Addison Bloomfield, Katey Pappas
Back Row: John Thomas Borowitz, Spencer Potts

Download Article.