February 26, 2013

Tina Veal-Gooch
Director of Public Relations
903.794.3651 ext. 1013

THS Student Council takes District Sweepstakes Title for the 25th Consecutive Year

Texarkana, TX – There’s not many organizations that can tout earning a District title for 25 consecutive years, but there are not many organizations like the Texas High School Student Council.

During the Texas Association of Student Councils (TASC) District 19 Spring Forum held in Ore City, the THS Student Council was named a District Sweepstakes winner, for the 25th year in a row. An estimated 400 students representing 25 schools from districts across East Texas attended.

Texas High School also was named District Treasurer and will be running for the TASC Vice-President position in April.

Other awards received during the conference along with student chairperson names are: Outstanding DASH (Drug, Alcohol, Safety & Health) – Roshni Patel (Chair) & Whitney Jaynes (Co-Chair); Outstanding Pride & Patriotism – Morgan Norfleet (Chair) & Brianna Sellers (Co-Chair); Outstanding Energy and Environment – Chris Courson (Chair) & John David Goins (Co-Chair); Outstanding Community Service – John David Goins (Chair) & Ben Norton (Co-Chair); and, Outstanding Student Council – Michael Stanley, President.

Organized in 1937, The Texas Association of Student Councils is a non-profit organization serving high school and middle level student councils in Texas. Its purpose is to develop leadership abilities in students, promote democracy as a way of life and establish and uphold high standards for local councils.

Download Article.