Skip To Main Content

TISD Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees and the Superintendent work as a “Team of Eight” to lead Texarkana Independent School District towards excellence. The current board members bring diverse backgrounds and expertise into the system and together, have over 96 years of service to the District.

TISD voters elect seven (7) Board of Trustees to serve three-year staggered terms. Five (5) positions are elected in geographic districts and two (2) positions are elected At-Large. Elections are held annually on the first Saturday in May. The Board of Trustees establishes educational policies to be executed by the Superintendent of Schools, whose primary responsibility is to provide creative and effective administrative leadership. Board of Trustees do not receive compensation for their service.

The Board of Trustees meets in regular session on the fourth Wednesday of each month, and at other times as necessary. The meetings are held at 11:30 a.m. at the TISD Services Building, 1600 Waterall Street, or at other designated locations in the District. The public is welcome to attend all meetings. Citizens wishing to address the Board may speak on issues other than personnel during the Public Forum, an agenda item for all Board meetings.

Gerald Brooks

District 2
Appointed 2013
Elected 2013, 2014, 2017, 2020, 2023
Term Expires 2026
Retired Teacher/School Administrator

Wanda Boyette

District 3
Elected 1995, 1998, 2001, 2004, 2007, 2010, 2013, 2016, 2019, 2022
Term Expires 2025
Self-Employed Construction Co

Bill Kimbro

District 1
Appointed 2008
Elected 2009, 2012, 2015, 2018, 2021
Term Expires 2024
Retired Teacher/School Administrator

Amy Bowers

District 4
Appointed 2014
Elected 2015, 2017, 2020, 2023
Term Expires 2026
Director of Human Resources & Legal Affairs
BWI Companies, Inc.

Paul Miller

At Large - District 6
Appointed 2009
Elected 2010, 2012, 2015, 2018, 2021
Term Expires 2024
Miller, James, Miller,
Hornsby, LLP

Bryan DePriest

District 5
Appointed 2006
Elected 2007, 2010, 2013, 2016, 2019, 2022
Term Expires 2025
Commercial Lending Director
Red River Federal Credit Union

Fred Norton, Jr.

At Large – District 7
Elected 1997, 2000, 2013, 2014, 2017, 2020, 2023
Term Expires 2026
Norton & Wood

For More Information, Contact:
Gayle Hale, Administrative Assistant
Texarkana Independent School District
4241 Summerhill Road – Texarkana, Texas 75503
Phone: 903.794.3651 ext. 1019     Email: