Texas HS Students to Be Given Statewide Music Award

Texarkana, TX - Students of the Texas HS will be honored as Texas Music Scholars at a ceremony on May 19, 2022.

The 3 students that were selected for this honor are:

Jeremy Creek, 12th Grade, Bass

Maddie Frost, 12th Grade, Alto

Madelyn Snow, 12th Grade, Soprano

They were nominated for this honor by their director, Jennifer Colton-Fowler, and the award is given by the Texas Music Educators Association, which sponsors the Texas All-State Bands, Orchestras and Choirs.  Last year fewer than 1,800 students were named as Texas Music Scholars.

This award is given to students who have exhibited outstanding qualities in scholastic merit, musicianship and citizenship in their school and community during the 2021-2022 school year.

The Texas Music Educators Association, headquartered in Austin, Texas, is an association of over 13,000 music teachers whose goals are to support music education in Texas, provide professional growth opportunities for educators, foster public support for music in schools and offer quality musical experiences for students.

Download Article.