Skip To Main Content

Texas High Art Students Win Awards at Regional VASE Competition

Texas High Art Students Win Awards at Regional VASE Competition

Twenty-nine Texas High School art students participated in The TAEA Region 8 VASE Art contest on Saturday, February 24, 2024. These 29 students entered 48 works for a chance to win gold medals. The THS students competed against 16 other schools. Competitors across the region submitted 317 artworks to be juried for earning a regional gold medal. Several THS students received gold medals and perfect scores based
on composite scores of their artwork and student interviews.

Of the 317 artworks, the jury panel selected 27 as state qualifiers to compete at the State VASE Art Event in San Marcos this April. THS had three out of 27 artworks advance to state. THS students Lizzie Sharp and Mariana Dominguez's works advanced to state competition. The judges chose two of Sharp’s works and one of Dominguez’s to compete for state honors.

In addition to the contest, the event featured Texas A&M Commerce Art Professor Dr. Beatriz Galuban as a guest speaker.  Participating Texas High students included:

Shea Phillips’ students:
Crow Dodson**, Aadyn Hayes*, Grace Heo*, Elizabeth Sharp**, Bee Slifer*, Carlos Valerio*

Giselle Galvan’s students:
Mariana Dominguez*, Jhocel Dugayo*, Maggie Gonzalez**, Meraldin Medina*, David Morales-Simon*, Lessly Moya*, Markayla Neal*, William
Ramage**, Anna Grace Yates*

Teya Sherman’s students:
Emma Crittenden*, Leo Blevington, David McDonald**, Kielexiyah McHenry*, Hailey McGonigal**, Haina Paz* 

Tyson Feemster’s students:
Lucero Castro*, Kaileigh Eubanks*, Yoshlin Garcia, Cesar Ramirez-Rosales*, Martavious Smith**

*Student Received One Regional Gold Medal
**Student Received Two Regional Gold Medals


State Qualifying students: Elizabeth Sharp, Mariana Dominguez

THS VASE Competitors Pictured - Back to Front - (L to R):
Emma Crittenden, Yoshelin Garcia, Guadalupe Ortiz, Crow Dodson, Hailey McGonigal, Carlos Valerio, Bee Slifer, William Ramage, David Morales-Simon, Cesar Ramirez, Meraldin Medina, Hania Paz, Jhocel Dugayo, Lucero Castro, Anna Grace Yates, Aadyn Hayes, Sierra Roach, Grace Heo, Yacel Moya Morales, Lessly Moya, Leo Blevington, Maggie Gonzalez, David McDonald, Elizabeth Sharp, Mariana Dominguez. Not Pictured: Martavious Smith and Kaileigh Eubanks

VASE State Advancing Student
Mariana Dominguez


VASE State Advancing Student
Lizzie Sharp